Home Country guide Regions & Cities Kyiv Goverment Centre in Lypky

Goverment Centre in Lypky

Lypky is a historical locality in the Pechersk District, the name of which has its origin in the lime-tree grove (Ukr. 1ypy) planted here in the 18th century. Long since, mulberry (shovkovytsya) and grape (vynograd) gardens were also grown there. The past of this ever-picturesque corner of Kyiv survives in some street names: Lypska, Vynogradna, Shovkovychna. In the early 19th century the trees and shrubs were cut out there due to building up the Lypky as a new administrative centre. The austerity inherent in the system of regularity is not sensed in this part. It is as if smoothed away by a wonderful landscape of the place bounded with the hills steeply coming down towards the Dnipro in a long train of parks on their slopes.

In Lypky were located official civil and military establishments, banks, mansions of nobles, merchants and manufacturers. Aristocratic nature of this new district has found its reflection in the exquisite architecture of its palaces and mansions. Nowadays, it is a centre of the country's political life since it houses the supreme organs of power of Ukraine.
The country's Parliament . the Ukrainian Verkhovna Rada - seats in the building erected in 1939 to a contest design of V. Zabolotny. It is considered one of the best architectural structures of the Soviet era. The central part of the building is an eight-corner 1300-seat assembly hall crowned by a glass cupola. A six-column portico of the modernized Corinthian order adorns the main entrance at which two sides four sculptural compositions were set up in 1985 (sculptor V. Znoba). The facade and interiors are decorated with granite, labradorite, marble, rare varieties .of wood, metal, carving and encrustation.
Two epochal documents were adopted in this building: the Act proclaiming the state independence of Ukraine on 24 August 1991 and the Constitution of Ukraine on 28 June 1996. Thus, the Ukrainian independent state was regenerated in the European area.
The gem of the government centre is Mariinsky (Tsar's)Palace, built in 1752, to the design of Bartolommeo Francesco Rastrelli, famous for his structures in St. Petersburg, Winter Palace among them. Originally founded at behest of Empress Elizabeth, the residence was designed for festive ceremonial forms.

The composition of the ensemble is performed in the Baroque style typical for the 18th century palace-and-park complexes. A two-storeyed palace with one-storeyed wings is a square structure with a big yard. Besides that, the palace ensemble included the outbuildings, a regular garden with winter gardens, greenhouses and pavilions, as well as a confectionary where jams and sweets were made. Luxurious balls, receptions and masked balls were held in it when the nobles were on visit to Kyiv.
In the early 19th century the building was damaged by fire. Renovated by archi-tect K.Mayevsky in 1868 - 1870 on the occasion of Emperor Alexander II and Empress Maria Olexandrivna (hence the name of the building) visit to Kyiv, it retained the general Baroque aspect, though substantially altered in structure.
The terrace was added on the park side, the interiors were decorated in the Neo-Renaissance style, the grounds were enclosed by a lattice-work railing. The last scientific renovation was held under supervision of architect I. Ivanenko in 1980 - 1982.

In spite of intricate reconstructions, the ensemble is a nice specimen of the Baroque style, harmony of palace and park architecture, features a graceful and exquisite appearance. The palace facades are lavishly decorated with ornaments, mascarons, sculptures. The interiors do boast the richness of their decoration and appointments. The marvelous glazed-tile stoves and fire-places, glued-laminated parquet made of rare varieties of wood, luminaires as well as stucco moulding, carving, gilding, paintings embellish its halls, each in its manner. Original Baroque features are embodied in the so-called Rastrelli's hall, renewed during the last restoration work. Nowadays, the building as a residence of the Ukrainian Government is used for official state functions. For some years past it is open for excursions two times a week.
On the opposite side are a few wonderful detached houses of the 19th . the beginning of the 20th centuries incorporated in the Government residence in Lypky. In the same place rises a monumental building of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine built in 1938 to the design of architects I. Fomin and P. Abrosymov. Its main ten-storeyed facade is divided symmetrically by Corinfian order columns with massive cast-iron capitals and bases. Being the Kyiv's largest administrative structure, it is 235 thousand cubic metres. Not far from it on small Bankova Street seats the Administration of the President of Ukraine. It occupies the building erected by architect S. Ilryhoryev in 1940 for Kyiv Special Military District Staff, which determined its restrained grey-and-black appearance. After the war till 1992 the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine took seats in this building.

Located in Lypky are also the Ministry of Internal Affairs, the Supreme Court, the National Bank of Ukraine, many other government establishments and embassies of foreign states. Members of government and diplomats live there. Picturesque sights, a lot of parks and squares, famous museums and theatres, exquisite architecture, clean air . all this makes Lypky the most prestigious part of Kyiv.